Estevan Fire and Rescue recently held its annual awards banquet. The banquet showcases firefighters, families, and accomplishments throughout the previous year.  

During the event, the newest group of recruits was introduced: Dave Hackett, Darson Gunnlaugson, Nathan Rae, Brandon Schopp, Colby Wainman and Tanner Weger-Brandow, who started with the department at the beginning of the year.  

Previous recruits who had passed probation and achieved the 1001 Level 2 training standard, which are professional firefighter qualifications were presented with their certificates at the banquet. That group included: Andrew Barr, Annie France Bizier, Ben Brokenshire, and Cam Sharp. 

Justin Herod, Tyler Stead, Mike Wock, Stephen McLaren and Amanda Minchin were recognized for 5 years of service. Mike Olson was recognized for 15 years of service which were commemorated with years of service awards. 

Two outgoing members were thanked at the ceremony. Mallory Cappelle was recognized and thanked for her 12 years of service to the department. Chad Perrault was recognized and thanked for his 26 years of service. Perrault was also presented with a Saskatchewan Protective Services medal for serving at least 25 years. 

There were three peer-voted awards handed out in recognition of qualities displayed throughout 2023.  Mike Wock received Officer of the Year. Ben Brokenshire received Firefighter of the Year, and Jeff Kuchinka received Driver/Operator of the Year.