Frobyshire to Frobisher (No records can determine for certain why it started out as Frobyshire.)
Frobisher (or Frobyshire) had a population of 145 in a 2006 census and is located in the southeast corner of the province approximately 45 km’s east of Estevan along highway #18. The industry of the area is largely farming and oil and it’s close proximately to larger centers creates easy access to services.
Frobisher was one of the first settled areas in the province, with a large number of settlers from Ontario. The first train (Canadian Pacific) came through in the fall of 1892. This settlement later became a village in 1904, and at the time was one of the largest and most populous areas in the province. After the discovery of oil in the region in 1954, the population doubled, reaching around 335 residents in 1961. Frobisher’s location provides access to both the Canadian Pacific and the Canadian National Railway Service.
Frobisher is home to a Lutheran Church and a Union Church, which was rebuilt in January 1996 after being destroyed by a fire in February of 1994, and a few oilfield services. The village also boasts the Thresherman's Museum and Reunion which is a time for old-time tractors, steam engines, threshing machines, and sharing memories of days long gone.